New Members Inducted Into Hall of Fame

Seven new members were inducted into the Hall of Fame for Athletes on Friday night during Homecoming weekend. They join other Ursinus alumni and former coaches who have been recognized for excellence in sports.

Those inducted this year were: Bradley Brewster ’74, Susann Sobolewski Dybus ’02, Bradley Getz ’97, Jumaah Ingram Johnson DPT ’02, Erin Fitzgerald Stroble ’02, Brian D. Thomas and Wilbert D. Abele ’61. Abele received the Blanche B. Schultz ’41 Award for commitment to Ursinus Athletics.

Will Abele

Will Abele with Director of Athletics Laura Moliken.

Wilbert D. Abele ’61 received a B.A. degree in Political Science. During his time at Ursinus, he was a two-time captain during the 1960 and 1961 seasons when he wrestled as a heavyweight. His dedication to wrestling and his alma mater was recognized recently as Ursinus Wrestling named the Homecoming Invitational in his honor.

Following graduation, Mr. Abele remained active as he served on the Alumni Council, the original President’s Council, class reunion committees and assisted with Office of Admission recruitment. In 1992, he joined the Board of Trustees at Ursinus, chairing the Development and Buildings and Grounds Committees. He received the Alumni Association’s Distinguished Service Award in 1987 and won the Alumnus of the Year Award in 1991.

Bradley BrewsterBradley Brewster ’74 was a two-sport athlete at Ursinus in football and track.

He had three interceptions in one game in 1972, and he still holds the career interception record at Ursinus at 21, which was recently tied by senior cornerback Chris Rountree.

In track, he won the indoor championship in 50-yard dash in 1971.

Susann Sobolewski DybusSusann Sobolewski Dybus ’02 was a standout softball player, one of 14 players to be named first-team All-Centennial Conference three times.

She also holds the school record in RBI with 117 and has a school-best 18 triples. Her .422 batting average is best in Ursinus history.

Bradley GetzBradley Getz ’97 is regarded as one of the best men’s soccer players in school history. He is the all-time leader in goals in a career with 55, and was a three-time first-team All-Centennial selection.

His 26 goals in 1994 is the second-best out in Centennial Conference history.

Jumaah Ingram JohnsonJumaah Ingram Johnson ’02 battled back from two injuries suffered during her gymnastics career to become the national champion on floor her senior year.

She finished fourth nationally in bars competition during 2002 and also finished fifth nationally on the beam.

Erin StrobleErin Fitzgerald Stroble ’02, who currently serves as the associate director of athletics at Ursinus, was the school’s first athlete to be both a first-team All-American in women’s lacrosse and a first-team Academic All-American.

She was Centennial Conference Player of the Year in 2002.

Brian ThomasBrian D. Thomas, who recently retired as baseball manager at Ursinus, had over 400 wins in 23 years at the helm.

He directed the Bears to three Centennial Conference crowns and was named Coach of the Year in 2009. He also served as Director of Athletics at Ursinus.

Photos from Induction Banquet

Flickr is currently unavailable.

One thought on “New Members Inducted Into Hall of Fame

  1. Congratulations to Erin Fitzgerald Stroble – I’ve been following her career since she was a child and am thrilled for Ursinus that you selected such a quality person to receive this high honor.

    Charlie Seymour Jr

Comments are closed.