Carlin Romano Jury Chair for J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize

Ursinus Professor of Philosophy and Humanities Carlin Romano has been named Chair of the Jury for the 2014 “J. Anthony Lukas Book Award,” jointly administered by the Nieman Foundation at Harvard University and Columbia University. The $10,000 prize goes to the author of a nonfiction book published in 2013 that exhibits the literary excellence and concern for social justice exemplified by J. Anthony Lukas (1933-97), the Pulitzer-Prize winning New York Times journalist and author. Lukas’s masterpiece, Common Ground (1985), won five major national prizes: the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction, the National Book Award in Nonfiction, the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction, the Robert F. Kennedy Award, and the Political Book of the Year Award.

Romano, who won a 2013-14 Guggenheim Fellowship for his book, America the Philosophical (2012), will be joined by fellow judges Tim Weiner, the Pulitzer-Prize-winning former New York Times correspondent — also winner of the 2007 National Book Award in Nonfiction for Legacy of Ashes: The History of the CIA — and Frances Negron-Muntaner, author of Boricua Pop: Puerto Ricans and the Latinization of American Culture and Director of the Center for Ethnicity and Race at Columbia University.

Previous winners of the J. Anthony Lukas Book Award include Samantha Power, now U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations, and New Yorker writers Jane Mayer and Lawrence Wright. This year’s J. Anthony Lukas Book Award will be presented at a ceremony and dinner at Harvard University in May, 2014.